Eric Healy
  • Bend, OR
Votes |
Aircraft Hanger, a good investment?

Eric Healy
  • Bend, OR
Posted Jun 8 2019, 07:10

Hey BP,

I found a nice aircraft hanger at our local airport and I think it may be a good investment. I’m a pilot but not looking to use it myself. I would like to just rent it out for cash flow. I’m on the west coast, so cash flow like this is hard to find. I would like to hear all you thoughts on this one. I have never heard of any investors doing this, does anyone out there invest in hangers?

In our area, this should rent for $2000/month. My quick math says, 60K (30%) down, morgage payment $1000 plus $230 /month land lease and $125/min for taxes. This gives me a 13% cash on cash. I’m also thinking it could appreciate. They don’t build new hangers very often as there is limited airport land. This is at a pretty busy regional, commercial airport. One concern and question is about the land lease from the city, what happens when this is done?

Here are the specifics on the unit:

Large Hangar For Sale $197,500

Hangar Size: 4,125 SF (55' x 75'), Construction: Steel hangar fully insulated with efficient natural gas heat.

Lot Size: 0.19 Acre (8,125 SF) of leased land

Zoning: AIRPORT-L, M1-L,

OSPR-L, PF-L

23 years remaining on land lease.

Hangar has an office, shower, gas heat

Single lift hydraulic 53' x 18' door

200 amp service

User Stats

Votes
Forrest Williams
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Chicagoland
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Chicagoland
Replied Jun 8 2019, 07:12

How much maintenance would you be responsible for?

User Stats

Votes
David Lee Hall, III
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Pittsburgh, PA
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Pittsburgh, PA
Replied Jun 8 2019, 07:19

Check what you would need for insurance too. Also, since you have access, walk the airport and see what % of hangers are full and their condition. If a lot are empty you may not get that monthly income for some time.

BiggerPockets logo