Skip to content
Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Jung-Jin Shim
Votes |
Is it worth investing? (attached my analysis)

Jung-Jin Shim
Posted May 2 2024, 11:22

Hello, I am new to a real estate investment. I’ve run some numbers with a current real estate listing, but it seems hard to find a house with positive cash flow. Even if I found one, the cash on cash return is very small. I understand Columbus is a highly appreciated area, but do you think it is still worth investing with the small cash on cash return (sometimes 0)  if appreciation is expected? Is it worth going through when the average yearly rate of s&p is about 10%, which is pure passive income? Thank you,

User Stats

Votes
Kevin Sobilo
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Hanover Twp, PA
Votes |
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Hanover Twp, PA
Replied May 2 2024, 13:48

@Jung-Jin Shim, a few things to keep in mind.

1. A deal is what YOU make of it NOT what is advertised. If the asking price is $185k, it might not be a "deal" worth it for you unless you can get it for $165k. You buy because its a "deal" not because you like it yourself personally.

2. You make money 3 ways: cash-flow, mortgage pay down and market appreciation. All of them figure into what you expect to get out of the deal even though cash-flow in my opinion is the most preferred of the 3 ways.

3. Deals can get better over time. Over the next 3-5 years, it is not unreasonable to expect rents to go up a little and for interest rates to go down. So, that is you refinance your cash-flow will improve quite a bit.

4. Stocks suck! If you invest $100k in stocks and they go up 10% you make $10k. If you invest $100k in real estate you can acquire a $400k property and if that appreciates 10% you make $40k! Plus real estate is tax advantaged!

Real estate is better because leverage allows you to multiple your return. Your return is tax advantaged and also you have more direct control over the investment. 

User Stats

Votes
Jung-Jin Shim
Votes |