Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Jeff Witherite
Votes |
Best state for registering a real estate investment company

Jeff Witherite
Posted May 2 2024, 05:40

I am currently a resident of Ohio, but my business partner and I spend quite a bit of time in the Carolinas.  We have separately been involved in investment real estate for several years, and we are now planning to start a new business together with intent to invest in long-term multi-unit rental properties in the Carolinas.  I am interested to receive feedback as to the best state for registering our business at the top-of-house level.  We both live in Ohio, but I think there are probably tax and legal benefits to registering in another state, such as Wyoming.  I would appreciate feedback from forum participants as to which state is considered the best and why.  Thank you.

User Stats

Votes
Replied May 2 2024, 11:26

Hi Jeff! Keep in mind that if you register your company in a different state than you are doing business in, you most likely will need to register as a "foreign entity" in the state you are doing business in. For example, if you formed your business in Ohio, but intend to purchase a property in SC, you will need to register said business in SC. This process can take 2-3 weeks depending on the state. You can also think about creating a new company for each deal that you do, to keep all assets separate. I'd find a lender that can do deals with brand new companies and do not require seasoning, if you choose to go that route. 

User Stats

Votes
Jimmy Lieu
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Columbus, OH
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Columbus, OH
Replied May 3 2024, 10:40
Quote from @Jeff Witherite: