Syndications & Passive Real Estate Investing

User Stats

Votes
Gregory Durgin
Votes |
Starting a Undergrad College Real Estate Fund -- What should I know

Gregory Durgin
Posted Apr 18 2024, 08:05

Background: I am an undergraduate student starting a real estate fund with $100,000 pledged from the Administration.

As mentioned above I am starting a real estate investing club on my college campus with a good chunk of change from Administration. Our plan is for the club to act as a limited partner in real estate deals and to teach students about investing. The other founder and I have corporate real estate experience (Commercial Real Estate IB and real estate PE internships) but are not experts. We have a few mentors who are alumni operating smaller GPs who could provide deal flow and hopefully mentorship as well).

What should I be considering that I may not be? (I.e. Legal implications, etc etc)

User Stats

Votes
Chris Seveney
Pro Member
#2 All Forums Contributor
  • Investor
  • Virginia
Votes |
Pro Member
#2 All Forums Contributor
  • Investor
  • Virginia
Replied Apr 18 2024, 16:23
Quote from @Gregory Durgin:

Background: I am an undergraduate student starting a real estate fund with $100,000 pledged from the Administration.

As mentioned above I am starting a real estate investing club on my college campus with a good chunk of change from Administration. Our plan is for the club to act as a limited partner in real estate deals and to teach students about investing. The other founder and I have corporate real estate experience (Commercial Real Estate IB and real estate PE internships) but are not experts. We have a few mentors who are alumni operating smaller GPs who could provide deal flow and hopefully mentorship as well).

What should I be considering that I may not be? (I.e. Legal implications, etc etc)

Gregory

Lots to consider and happy to jump on a call to discuss.