• Pennsylvania
Votes |
commercial office space

Konstantin Komkov
Pro Member
  • New to Real Estate
  • Pennsylvania
Posted Apr 18 2024, 08:49

Hello, I am new to commercial side of real estate. I am looking at how commercial office space is appraised. There are around 50 similar commercial office spaces, when they were build in 1990's they all were sold at approximately $120 per square foot. But recently they were sold at a very different prices per square foot. Some are really 1.5 times more than the others. My question is how it could be explained? From the outside they all look the same, but different square footage of cause.
Thank you ! K

User Stats

Votes
Chris Mason
  • Lender
  • California
Votes |
  • Lender
  • California
ModeratorReplied Apr 18 2024, 11:08

"My question is how it could be explained?"

Some might have a strong NNN tenant in place with 10+ years left on the lease, and it might be a big corporation that you can take to court if they ghost on paying their rent, while others might be office suites broken up into small offices on 6-36 month leases with shaky tenants like a nutrition supplement MLM that uses the office for 3x a week rah rah meetings on how to recruit more people into the pyramid scheme, that are immune to law suits b/c you can't squeeze juice out of a rock. In the middle of those two extremes might be a small business with 3 years left on their lease, but they've made improvements to the property that aren't cheap to remove, such as perhaps a dental office (dentists might be pissed that I put them in the mid-risk category, but all the dentists going out of business in 2020-2021 taught us that American consumers apparently regard dental care as an optional and "luxury" spending item). 

You wouldn't pay more for a home with a really strong tenant b/c even the strongest tenant typically has <12 months left on the lease.